Kickstarter project.

My Kickstarter project didn’t get funded. Not all do, some do in fantastic fashion.

I wanted to try the memorial project one more time so now I can put it aside.

What I learned.

1 In my analysis of the project it seems my network was the problem.

I got some feedback I am very thankful for that said the video should be tighter, more focused. The video was the most difficult part of the whole project. It became a key barrier. If I could get it done I would be able to proceed, if not, I wouldn’t have been able to even launch the project. I decided that ‘done’ was better than ‘perfect’. I see the project more as a lesson in how important network is to doing anything on the Internet.

2 How interesting the idea seemed  was a problem.

I had a hard time trying to decide how much to tie the original image of the project to this Kickstarter version.  I also had suggestions that images of the earthquake/tsunami were needed to remind people of the devastation. I didn’t include those type of images simply because, for me, they have an element of gratuitousness. I thought, and think, it shows less respect to the Japanese people who lived through the actual event to use those very powerful images as a means to further my project.

3 Failure teaches a lot.

I had a teacher introduce me to her class in college as someone who isn’t afraid to fail. At the time I didn’t understand what she was saying, now, 20 years later, I understand completely.  I don’t enjoy failure. I  enjoy the way where there isn’t a path enough to know I will have many more failures in the future, as well as many successes.

I got 4 pledges from people for the project and I am very grateful for their support.

About togeii

I have lived in Japan for 19 years doing ceramics almost the whole time. I have a wood burning noborigama and a long snake kiln.. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

