Wood firing noborigama.

I got some hard data from Bill Geisinger He fires in the “Abe” way.

Day one 100C stop firing at night. This is a 12 hour break
Day two 250C stop firing at night. This is an 12 hour break
Day three to 1275C this takes me 12 hours and drop to 1250 and hold for maybe 24 hours.

He also gave me some data from a friend of his. His friend fires an anagama.

Day one 100C stop firing at night. This is a 12 hour break
Day two 250C stop firing at night. This is an 12 hour break
Day three to 1275C and drop to 1250 and hold for maybe six hours, stop firing at night this is an 8-10 hour break
Day four start at 800C back up to 1250Ctakes me about 4-5 hours to get back to temp and hold for about 6-8 more hours.

Bill says that the kiln remains in red hot heat so there isn’t a problem of dunting and the firing time is about the same. He thinks wood usage goes up by about 1/4.

I left my kiln yesterday with a temperature in room 1 of about 420 C. and in room 2 of about 200 C.  When I started this morning I had 200 C. in room 1, in room 2,  150 C.  I was back up to yesterday’s ending temperature within about an hour and a half.  I am measuring the temperature in one point in each room, about 3/4 up vertically. My kiln isn’t an anagama and it is all hard brick so I expect my results to be different.

About togeii

I have lived in Japan for 19 years doing ceramics almost the whole time. I have a wood burning noborigama and a long snake kiln.. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

