Test firing

I just finished a test firing. I am mainly interested in the clay for the ash glaze. I only fired 15 bowls. The white and black  bowl with the underglaze picture is fun. I made about 10 black and white bowls that are similar to this one. The other 9 don’t have any picture yet but I think I will apply some. The yellow color didn’t make it through the firing and it comes through as a grey.

The ash glaze worked out ok. In my small test kiln I still got a wide variety of looks even though the clay and the glaze are the same.

About togeii

I have lived in Japan for 19 years doing ceramics almost the whole time. I have a wood burning noborigama and a long snake kiln.. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

