The casual mistake.

I am at 850 bowls. About 2-3 weeks and I will be at my goal. Then the difficult part of selling.

I was looking at some shoki Imari yesterday, displayed outside of a department store gallery that was showing some contemporary ceramic work. I have also been listening to a very long series on West, Central and East Asian art. It is a multi-gigabyte, multi-hour series. It has really colored the lenses through which I see what is going on in Japanese ceramics. My respect for Japan has risen too. I don’t think it is popular to say one finds Japanese ceramics a logical conclusion of development in ceramics. It is much more popular to say that Chinese or European ceramic work has striven and achieved higher levels. I don’t disagree with the idea that they have. I also happen to think that Japanese work, and I am talking mainly about more traditional styles wherein the esthetic is centered on clay, glaze, fire and accidents, has taken a different road. The road seems head to an area that is closer to the heart of human experience. I will say the Chinese or European road seems to head to a rational, scientific conclusion. I don’t have a picture of the Imari piece I saw yesterday but suffice to say it was something along the lines of this, http://www.brooklynmuseum.org/opencollection/objects/111950/Shoki_Imari_Blue-and-White_Dish

In looking at my own work I have done in these soon to be 1,000 bowls I would word my esthetic as – the casual mistake-. Sounds strange to use as a basis of work so I will explain. I think the best work in most genre comes from when the person making the work is most ‘not there’. I won’t say focused or at one with one on/with the work but when the person is most unaware of each passing second. If seconds could be experienced as subunits divided into 100 units and each of these goes crashing by in blissful unawareness then perhaps one can make the best work.   Selling  is another story.

About togeii

I have lived in Japan for 19 years doing ceramics almost the whole time. I have a wood burning noborigama and a long snake kiln.. I
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

